comment 0

Fight hate with love – Why supporting each other is so important.

A solemn sadness has cast a shadow over the entire world like a dark cloud since Friday’s tragic events, and as the death toll is only set to rise, the publics emotions are bound escalate. One man’s actions have caused ripples around the world with even those not directly affected feeling an overwhelming sense of grief and despair.

When I heard the news, my heart dropped. Every time I hear something like this the first the thing I think of is my own children. Did I do the wrong thing bringing them into such a cruel world? Because no matter how hard I try to protect them, I could never protect them from acts of pure evil such as this, and it hurts knowing that I have no control over it.

I’m not ashamed to admit I cried that day. I kept thinking back to our recent family holiday in Turkey and the days we spent on the beach, the boys sat in the sand playing happily with their buckets and spades without a care in the world. Not for one second did I ever think that a crazy man with a gun could come running up firing shots at us.

I guess those innocent people that died that day in Tunisia didn’t think that either.

When something this tragic and unthinkable happens I always seem to wonder, how will we ever recover from it? Terrorism holds no bounds, it takes no prisoners but one thing I have learnt since 9/11 is that terrorism will never win. No matter how much control these brainwashed groups try to gain they will never be able to break down the human spirit.

The day before I had shared a video on my Facebook page, it was a rare good news story about the Muslim community feeding the homeless. It was probably the only positive thing I had seen on social media regarding the religion and it was refreshing to see. Then this happens.

I was worried that after the attacks that tensions would heighten and racism would intensify, and just like I predicted there were plenty of angry comments aimed at the Muslim Community. I don’t agree with people bad mouthing the Muslim community, but I can understand it. Lives have been lost and people are angry, they are looking for someone to blame and they are scared of what they do not know.

Thankfully in the midst of the derogatory and judgemental comments and racial slurs, I saw a glimmer of hope. For every negative comment, I read a positive one. I watched people coming together for the victims and their families, for Tunisia, and for the Muslim community. I read heart-warming stories of the good deeds that have been done, how human beings helped each other regardless of their religion in a time of need. That is what we need more of.

Islam is the second largest religion in the entire world with over 1.6 billion followers in various countries. No matter what ISIS claims, they do not represent Islam. If they did, I’m sure we would all be dead by now. Muslims themselves are even joining in the fight to bring down these cowards, why would they do that if they believed their ideals?

ISIS are cowards and we cannot let them win by creating a divide and turning on each other. It’s so easy to look for someone to blame but judging an entire religion on the acts of a group of psychopaths is not the answer.

Some of the kindest people I know are Muslim and just like everybody else they too are devastated by these attacks, they don’t condone it in any way, their faith would not allow it. No human being would ever condone these actions. That is what we need to remember –  we are all human beings and no matter what we believe, we all need to have faith in each other if we are going to get through this, because there is no ‘us and them’ in humanity.

My heart goes out to all of the victims and the families of the tragic events in Tunisia, Kuwait and France. May they Rest in Peace.

Leave a Reply

